The Museum is located in an 1858 Italianate mansion built as a private residence by Galena merchant Daniel Barrows and was sold in 1922 to the International Order of the Odd Fellows to be converted into a lodge/community building. The Museum features over 6,000 square feet of exhibit space on lead mining in the northwest region, the driftless area, Grant’s leather store, the Port of Galena: 1858 (Galena’s steamboat history). The museum also houses a national treasure, the “Peace in Union” by Thomas Nast (1895) and the Vickburg Flag which was the first flag to be raised above the courthouse by the Forty-fifth Illinois Regiment. Open Daily, 9 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
The Museum Gift & Book Shop
Discover souvenirs, gifts, books of historical nature: Galena, Grant, Civil War, lead mining, steam boating.
Group Attendee Capacity: 90 People
Group Tour Length: 60 Minutes
Group Rate Available
Group Reservations Required